CrossFit & Catching Up!

So, after going MIA for a while, I figured it’s time to catch back up…like I always do 😉 It seems that I left off talking about waiting for the CrossFit gym (EVF CrossFit Columbus Circle) to open. Well, guess what!? It FINALLY opened! I’ll admit, I was a little nervous about it opening – hoping I would love it and stick with it and that my plan of going before work would stick as well. As mentioned before, I’ve never considered myself a morning person. Well, guess what else?? I haven’t gone to an evening class YET (and yes, I’ve been making it to the early morning classes, sometimes waking up at 5 AM!) When I first started, I wanted a 6:30 or 7:00 am class – waking up as late as possible in order to still make it to work on time. Now, my favorite class is the 5:30 or 6:00 am. I love having the extra time to relax and not rush through my breakfast and getting ready. It’s really nice to spend some extra time with Josh in the mornings too before we head out for the day!

Guys, if you had told me even a few months ago that I would grow to enjoy waking up at 5 o’clock in the morning…I would have seriously thought you were crazy. I know everyone always says, “Ohh, it gets easier the more you do it,” but I never actually believed those people (it does). I just thought they were crazy morning people that I could never ever in a million years be like. Although it’s still hard some days when my bed is so warm and cozy, I know that skipping the gym and sleeping in is only going to make me feel worse. Honestly, on my rest days, I feel so sluggish and grumpy! I actually look forward to going to the gym in the mornings because I know I’m going to feel great for the rest of the day. I have so much more energy and feel so good about myself for sticking to my goals and getting it done! Granted, I do get sleepy pretty early, and bed time for me is around 9:30 each night, but it’s 100% worth it. [This is also a big factor in why I never write blog posts anymore. By the time I’m finished cooking dinner, it’s around 8:00, so I savor that last hour ½]. Again, completely worth it. I will happily go to bed early each night if it means I’m getting stronger every day! I couldn’t be happier than I am at EVF, and I have an awesome group of people that join & motivate me each morning…it really starts my morning off on the right foot! Oh, and bonus, it’s only 5 minutes from my apartment! Convenience is key when it comes to working out in NYC – at least for me anyway.

So, let’s see. I’ve been going to EVF for about 7 weeks now. The hardest part is just trusting the process and being patient. I am slowly seeing small changes (more muscular legs, a little more definition in the arms, etc.), and more importantly, I’m constantly getting stronger (just yesterday, I was able to lift 10 lbs more than I could last week!). It’s an awesome feeling to make progress and be able to lift more weight or use fewer bands on a pull up (hopefully, one day, NO bands)! It’s not all about how I look, but I do have a few weddings and a beach trip coming up in June, so I’m eager to see the progress that I’ve made in 2 more months! 😉 I really can’t wait to see how far I’ve come in a year or so, but let’s not wish time away!

In other news, my gym also started a “Healthy Eating & Fitness Challenge” on April 7th that lasts for 60 days. Perfect, it ends right before the summer festivities begin, so of course I jumped on the bandwagon! There are no real rules, but it basically follows the Paleo guidelines. I had gotten way (and I mean WAY) off track, so it was nice to have this to jump into and hold me accountable. For me, the challenge isn’t so much about what I can/can’t eat, but about making better choices. For instance, having 1 drink instead of 6, haha. Right before the challenge, I was adding gluten free oats and white rice back into my diet a little. CrossFit workouts make me SO hungry! Some days I just can’t eat enough…but who’s complaining! I forgot how much I like oatmeal. Cooked with almond milk and add some coconut sugar…yum yum yum! I did kick those out for the challenge, but I haven’t missed them too much. I will likely add them back after the challenge though…especially the oatmeal!

In the past few months, I’ve been trying to figure out what really works for me. I know when I first started this Paleo adventure, I was that hardcore, annoying person who was gung-ho about strict Paleo only. But we all know that isn’t realistic. While I know that I feel best when I’m making Paleo-friendly choices, sometimes I just want a slice of pizza, or some French fries, or a freakin’ cupcake! I could go on and on. I do try to steer clear of dairy because I’ve learned my body doesn’t exactly like dairy, and I’d rather not feel like poo after eating something! The key is to enjoy those foods in moderation and not feel guilty when I eat them. The whole point of all of this is to not let food rule my world or feel guilty when I choose to eat something I wouldn’t normally eat. It’s all about balance. I do feel it’s worth mentioning that I tried macro-counting (counting Protein/Fat/Carbs) for a few weeks. Initially, I thought it was a good idea and some people swear by it, but the more I did it I realized it’s not for me. Maybe I just don’t have the patience, but it takes a lot of planning to calculate your macros perfectly for each day of the week. It got really overwhelming, and I was giving up perfectly healthy foods because they didn’t “fit” into my macros. Another thing that turned me off is that a lot of people count their macros by way of “Flexible Dieting.” They eat relatively clean foods for the most part, but they also make things like pop-tarts, ice cream, oreos, etc. fit into their diets on a regular basis. At first, I was like “woohoo, I can have pop-tarts again!?” THEN I took a step back and realized WHY would I want to eat pop-tarts again? The whole idea of Paleo is to eat unprocessed foods. To each their own, but I didn’t want to fall back into old habits, so I quickly stepped out of that mindset! It made me realize that there are SO many differing views on what “eating healthy” means. I’m not saying my way of thinking is right or that Paleo is the answer, but it all gets really confusing. I wish there was ONE set answer. Why can’t someone figure that out? Haha. I guess what I’m trying to say, is that all I really want is to find balance and not feel guilty about the foods I eat or have food consume my life…so I’m trying to be better about that, and not beat myself up about making mistakes. One step at a time!

All in all, I’m feeling really great about where I’m at right now. I made a goal to work out 5 times a week, and most weeks, I hit that goal. I have become that person who is obsessed with CrossFit, and that’s ok with me. I enjoy it, and I work out with people who enjoy it as much as I do. I love the small class setting and someone telling me what workout to do each day. I absolutely suck at traditional gyms! I no longer think of working out as a chore or something I have to do. I honestly look forward to starting my day with a WOD (yes, I just used CrossFit lingo) and never leave without getting my butt kicked. I am so happy to have found a gym that I love, and I’m more motivated than ever to reach some new goals!!

What else has happened in the months since I’ve last written on here?

My BFF, Amy, had her baby, Lucy! I can’t wait to meet this little sweetheart!

image

Corbett turned 3! This kid has my whole heart!

image

My sister found out she’s pregnant! She told me the news with this shirt on FaceTime…loved it! I’m soooo beyond excited! I can’t wait to be an Aunt “again”

image

Josh and I celebrated our 2nd Anniversary! Love love love this man!

image

Izzy turned 3! Love this adorable little girl! (Photo, courtesy of Allyson Keller Photography)

image

I’m really hoping to get back into the groove of writing on here, since I actually have something to talk about now. I promise (to try) not to talk ONLY about CrossFit!

It’s good to be back in the blogging world, peeps!

kMc

4 thoughts on “CrossFit & Catching Up!

  1. This is all so awesome! I’ve been doing paleo for a while too, and I love it, but I’ve been at a standstill lately. I’m dying to try crossfit, but I’m so nervous!! Thanks for your encouraging words, hitting the gym tomorrow morning! (:

    • Thanks so much!! If you want to try it, you should! I’m on month 3 and I love it…getting stronger every day 🙂 Also, totally know the feeling of the standstill…keep up the hard work!

Leave a Reply

