Too Busy to Blog!

I am SO sad that it has been THREE weeks (or more! yikes!) since I’ve done a post! This will probably end up being entirely too long because I feel like so much has happened since then!

First off, the main reason I’ve been MIA is because we moved apartments…HIP HIP HOORAY!! I have been looking forward to this move for a long time! We started packing the weekend before the move since we had to move on a Friday, and as expected, it was a huge disaster. Stuff. Was. Everywhere! Our apartment was already small, then add [what seemed like] a million boxes, and you have no room to walk, sit, eat, get dressed, sleep, etc. etc. etc.! To say we were going crazy during that week is an understatement! But we finally got everything packed up and made the move to our new place! Amazing, just amazing, I tell ya! I always like to think everything happens for a reason, and I think we had to spend out first year in a small space in order to fully appreciate this new space…and boy DO we appreciate it! I honestly don’t have anything negative to say about our new apartment! We really lucked out finding it…thanks to Josh! The new area is a lot busier and a lot less neighborhood-y, but I will never complain, because my commute to work is now cut in half (it used to take an HOUR!), and we’re in walking distance to so many places – Whole Foods, Bed Bath & Beyond, TJ Maxx, H&M, Sephora and lots of others! I am one happy lady here!

With all of the packing, moving, unpacking and organizing (my favorite part!), I just haven’t had time to write any posts…excuses, excuses! I know!! The good news is, after unpacking everything, we realized we could use a few more pieces of furniture – like I need another reason to shop! But that is DEFINITELY a good thing!

So what’s been happening in the last few weeks besides moving into our new place? We had lots of birthdays to celebrate this month in the McCain family – our nephews, Ben and Ethan, Josh’s Dad, Maddie (our sweet furry child) and MINE! That’s of lot of birthdays, and I absolutely love birthdays…especially mine (better known as my birthday week)!

IMG_0281

Isn’t she just the cutest [6 year old] chihuahua you’ve ever seen? Yes, I thought so! I may or may not treat her like a human child…

IMG_0331 IMG_0332 IMG_0260

Naturally, we went to our favorite local bar, Bar Coastal, to celebrate my birthday! It was 3 blocks from our old apartment, and our favorite hangout, but man is it a pain in the booty to get to now! We used to live on the East side, now we’re on the West side…such a pain to get from one side to the other, but absolutely worth it for the VIP treatment we get there! When we got home, I was served my favorite red velvet cupcakes for the perfect ending to my day! I’m also super excited about my new Paleo cookbook that my Grandma got me for my birthday!! I had the BEST birthday thanks to my family and friends!

IMG_0325

I was also lucky enough to have this cutie call and sing me Happy Birthday – no, really, he actually sang the entire song to me! So stinkin’ cute! He also made me a birthday cake out of play-doh and had me blow out the candles! Haha, he cracks me up!

IMG_0307 IMG_0334

Since I didn’t get to dress up for Halloween (for the SECOND year in a row…insert sad face here), I’ll just share pics of the cutest UPS man ever! Seriously, I don’t think it gets much cuter!

IMG_0333

I also got this from his Halloween party at school. I don’t know how he is already old enough to be in school…time needs to slow down!

Let’s see…what else has been happening?

IMG_0244

My granola from Steve’s Paleo Goods finally came in! I love finding Paleo alternatives for foods that are 100% NOT Paleo! I love this sampler pack (which is almost gone) so you can figure out what you do/don’t like! Thumbs up for this place!

IMG_0245

I’m still not sure if it compares to this Homemade Granola topped with bananas and strawberries! YUM YUM YUM!!

IMG_0309 IMG_0303

On the left is one of my new favorite breakfasts – sauteed spinach, sausage and eggs over easy (?) I honestly have no idea what you call these? Fried eggs? haha, anywho, I love them! Runny yolk and all – who knew!? Andddd on the right is a complete Paleo pancake failure! WHY are these things so damn hard to flip? I like to call it a pancake scramble…oh well.

IMG_0304

Random, but we saw this on our way to Costco last weekend!! We LOVE Costco now! I thought this was funny…this is not a a DRIVE through McDonald’s, but a WALK through McDonald’s! Haha, only in NYC!

Yesterday, it was back to meal prepping! It was nearly impossible to do that during the move!

IMG_0370 IMG_0371

I finally made it to Trader Joe’s! I’m pretty sure that I could love this place and spend hours in there – if only I woke up at 6 am on the weekend to get my grocery shopping done and beat the crowds…NIGHTMARE! But I did find some pretty good stuff! Awesome healthy options that don’t break the bank!

IMG_0375 IMG_0376

Since Josh and I (mainly Josh) drink so much iced coffee from Starbucks, and our new Starbucks is always ridiculously busy, we decided to give homemade iced coffee a whirl! We tried out this recipe from The Pioneer Woman. Attempt #1 was a bit of a failure, so we made round #2 tonight! Hopefully it tastes good in the AM! Side note: I absolutely LOVE our full-size fridge…oh the things we take for granted until we don’t have them anymore!

IMG_0387

Speaking of full-size things, I am beyond excited that we now have this kitchen to work with. It really just makes life so much easier!! So much cabinet space, so much counter space…I’m in love.

IMG_0380

I finally made almond meal out of my leftover almonds from the milk I made a while back. I just stored them in the refrigerator until I had the time to bake them for a couple of hours!

IMG_0383 IMG_0384

I thought I would try out these Zucchini Fritters that I found on The du Plooy duo’s Blog! She has so many great recipes – definitely check out her blog! I had these this morning, and I’m fairly certain I did something wrong, though I’m not sure what. But they tasted really weird! Not surprising when I’m the chef!

IMG_0385

I made spaghetti squash to top with meatballs and marinara for some lunches this week…delicious! I love how easy this is to make, except for cutting the squash in half – that’s what Josh is for!

IMG_0390 IMG_0386

Then I made these Salmon Cakes and sauteed some broccoli slaw for “noodles.”

IMG_0397 IMG_0398

End result? These yummy lunches for the week! I had 2 “spaghetti” and meatballs and 2 salmon cakes with broccoli slaw! I had the salmon today, and it was so good! I topped it with Trader Joe’s whole grain dijon mustard…mmm mmm!

IMG_0400 IMG_0401

For dinner, I made one of our new favorites, Paleo-friendly tacos! I used these Simple Paleo Tortillas for the shells. They are so easy and so good! Tacos used to be one of my favorite homemade meals, so I’m so excited to add them back to the menu! We topped them with organic ground beef, tomatoes, salsa and guacamole!

Now let’s get to the real topic of conversation – my exercise routine lately! I have been such a huge slacker, and I’ll be the first to admit it! I’m not going to make excuses, because you can always make the time to exercise, but thankfully I have jumped right back into it now that we’re settled into our new apartment! One of my favorite things about our building is that we have a gym AND a pool! I have always wanted to start swimming, just never took the plunge! Haha, bad pun there! I have always heard that swimming is one of the best workouts for your entire body, so I’m super excited! I’ve been twice already with Josh, and so far I quite like it! I did have to invest in this sexy one-piece though!

IMG_0391

Of course it’s neon and animal print! I’m hoping I can start swimming 3-4 times a week and make it a routine! Pretty easy just to head downstairs and hop in the pool!

I am also ECSTATIC about my birthday present from Josh!! I am finally, finally getting back into CrossFit after wanting to for the past year! I couldn’t be happier! I’ve been so worried about finding a new gym since the kickboxing gym is so far away now. I am definitely a class-taking girl. I’m not a fan of free weights and treadmills! I think it was meant for me, because right around my birthday I found an amazing deal for CrossFit classes at Brick New York on Gilt City (similar to Groupon). The gym is right down the street from my work, and just a quick subway ride back to the apartment…perfecto! I actually went tonight for the first time, and having not done CrossFit in an entire year…it was TOUGH! My arms are going to be so sore tomorrow, but I loved it! Great gym, great people, great environment. As expected, I was the last person to finish the “WOD,” but as I was doing my last pull-ups and ring dips, everyone was standing there cheering me on…such a great feeling coming from people I just met 30 minutes before (and some I hadn’t even met)! I’ve got a LONG way to go, but I know this is where I want to be. It’s time to build these muscles up because I felt SO weak today!! I’m so excited for these changes in my workout routine and hope to see big changes!

Lastly, there is a new Superhero Challenge 2.0 that starts November 6th! I’m so excited for the new videos and daily tips! It’s totally revamped, and I think it’s going to be so much better! I’m also excited that I recruited a few people to join me! I really think it’s a great way to jumpstart a healthy lifestyle and get great advice from someone who knows what she’s doing! I’m so glad that I’m starting CrossFit at the same time – let’s see what changes I can make in the next 21 days! Bring on the challenge!!

Wow, this was even longer than I expected, but I’m so excited about everything that’s going on right now in my life, and I couldn’t be happier! I had to share with everyone since I’ve been such a dang slacker!

IMG_0378

I’m calling it a night with this cutie!

Until next time!

kMc

2 thoughts on “Too Busy to Blog!

Leave a Reply

