Catching up

So I know I have been a TERRIBLE blogger. I seriously have to make an effort to do better, but last week I was completely exhausted! I’m blaming it on my half marathon. I used all of my free time to relax…and apartment hunt. Sorry my blog got pushed to the wayside! I’m hoping I’ll have more time to blog more often once we are finished packing up the apartment, moving and settling in our new place. If not, I’ll just have to make the time!

The good news is…we found a new apartment! WHEW, that’s a relief! If you have ever had to look for an apartment in NYC, then I know you can relate. I am so excited about our new place I can’t even stand it! We are moving in 3 weeks, and I am just counting down the days – what a nice birthday present! I think I’m most excited that there is a Whole Foods literally steps from our apartment, which is probably very very dangerous (as I learned from my Costco experience last time), but super exciting! I may be more excited that my commute to work will be cut in half! Especially as the colder weather gets closer ūüė¶ Either way, I am so so so ready to get out of this apartment and into the new one!

You’ve probably read in my previous posts that I’m doing a¬†21-Day Challenge¬†hosted by¬†Emily Schromm – Unleashed Fitness. Well today marks day 15 of the challenge, and I am absolutely loving it! Her daily tips are so great and have taught me a lot so far! I can’t wait to share my experience at the end of the 21 days and continue to incorporate everything I’ve learned into my daily routine. I love learning more and more each day about keeping up with a healthy lifestyle!

Which leads me to my next topic of conversation. CrossFit. Since really stepping it up and jumping on the healthy wagon full force, I am DYING to get back into CrossFit. I just know that now that I’m eating healthy, I will see great results from doing it again. Looking back, when I did it last summer, that was a huge waste of money on my part. I didn’t change my diet at all and expected the same awesome results that a lot of people achieve with CrossFit. I think now I’m in a much better place and have the ability to get the results I really want! Updates to come if I’m ever able to get back into it! (There is one right by our new apartment, so fingers crossed I can figure out a way to make it work!)

I really want to share some pictures with everyone of some awesome things I whipped up over the weekend, but my NEW iPhone 5s is currently not loading my pictures to my camera roll…NOT good for blogging! Grrrrrr….So I guess I’ll just be posting without pics. Wait! I just remembered that I took some on Josh’s phone and emailed them to myself! But only a few.

I’ll start with dinner on Saturday. I had some ground beef in the freezer that I wanted to use, so I decided to make tacos. I saw what looked like an awesome idea for taco shells on¬†Stupid Easy Paleo¬†a few days before and thought I would give it a try. These. Were. Awesome. I definitely recommend these Paleo friendly Tortillas¬†to everyone! They were so simple AND delicious…even Josh liked them! We topped them with lettuce, tomatoes, salsa and guacamole. Yummmm!

I have really been wanting to make my own almond milk after ignoring the fact that the almond milk I’ve been drinking has so many awful ingredients in it. It’s impossible to find store bought almond milk without the gross additives – at least in my experience, but I was too intimidated to make my own. I finally decided to do it and it was so easy!! I used this recipe for¬†Homemade Almond Milk¬†and it tasted just like the store bought kind, but WITHOUT the additives! YAY! I was super proud of this one! I will definitely make a bigger batch next time since this only made enough for about 2 smoothies, but it was a success, and that made me very happy!

image-5 image-3

For lunches this week, I decided to get a little more creative than having the same thing every single day. I whipped up some¬†Homemade Meatballs¬†topped with marinara sauce. I also made some egg muffins with bell peppers and spinach. This recipe is so easy, just crack the egg into a muffin pan (I whisk my eggs first) and add your desired fillings, then bake for 20 minutes on 350! Easy peasy! I’m looking forward to my lunches this week! If there’s one thing I always preach about Paleo, it’s meal prep. It is a MUST in my book, otherwise you are just setting yourself up for failure. I love knowing that my lunches for the week are ready to go on Sunday, and I never have to think about what I’m going to pack!

Lastly, I’ve been eyeing this recipe for¬†Banana Ice Cream¬†for a while now. I really love ice cream (or frozen yogurt – especially the places where you make your own and pick your own toppings – I go wild in there!), but since I’ve given up dairy, I haven’t had any in a while. Of course, I’m always on the search for Paleo friendly recipes that rival my old favorites. This was actually really really good! I also really really love bananas, so that probably helps. I wasn’t a fan of the chocolate shell, but it was pretty cool how it hardened like a shell when you poured it on the frozen banana. I will leave that part off next time, but all in all, I give it a big thumbs up!

image-6

I also wanted to give an update since my half marathon. It’s so weird to go from training that much to not training at all. In the end, it just became routine (yes, even waking up at 6 am some Saturdays). I wanted to give my knees a break and haven’t run since the half marathon, but I’m actually missing it! I just don’t have the motivation for running on my own, it was so much easier running with a group of people! Maybe I need to sign up for another one? Haha, not just yet! I think I’ll just sign up for some 10K’s here and there. What I would really love to do is a triathlon, but I don’t know that I have the time (or am willing to make the time) to train for that. I think that’s next on my list though!

To end things, I forgot to say how EXCITED I am that it’s October! Definitely one of my favorite months! Fall weather, pumpkins, Oktoberfest (though nothing can compare to Oktoberfest in Helen, GA), my birthday, scary movies, haunted houses, Halloween, the list is endless. But I just love October, and I’m so glad to have an actual fall season. The weather has been perfect here!

Adios for now, enjoy the rest of your week!

kMc

 

Q: What’s your favorite workout?

Q: What’s your favorite recipe?

 

 

Leave a Reply

