Happy Friday…the 13th!

No, I’m not really superstitious, but it does remind me of being a kid and always hoping something “spooky” would happen on Friday the 13th! So, naturally, I guess I still think something spooky might happen…

So, I woke up sore sore SORE this morning. My hamstrings (which are always sore lately), my butt, my back, my shoulders, my abs (yeaaaa!), umm pretty much everything. And guess what? I love it! it used to be that after every workout, I was so sore I could hardly walk. My husband calls me a freak of nature (well, maybe not those exact words) “because nobody gets that sore after they’ve been working out on a regular basis.” Guess I’m the exception to that one. I can attribute this wonderful soreness to my workout routine this week:

Monday – HOT Yoga. My hamstrings and butt have been sore ever since!

Tuesday – Running

Wednesday – High Intensity Kickboxing

Thursday – TRX/Kickboxing Fusion (a new class Eastside Training is trying out, and it rocks!)

But, being sore today made me realize that I haven’t been feeling sore that much, and I kinda miss it! Which is why I’m trying to add the TRX and Kettlebell classes back into my routine, since I don’t have an actual gym where I can lift weights. Don’t get me wrong, I still love these workouts, but I’m at the point now where I really want to tone everything, and just doing cardio kickboxing isn’t going to cut it!

This brings me to my most recent struggle with all of this. I’ve drastically changed my eating habits and seen great results. I’ve slacked off a little in the past few weeks and allowed myself some indulgences here and there, but for the most part, I’m still Paleo-ing away! It’s just second nature now to choose foods that are Paleo-friendly and not reach for the bread basket when we’re out. BUT I feel like I’m at a plateau of sorts. I know I have to step up my game to get my body where I want it to be. I want muscle definition, I want abs, I want to have the best body that I can. I’ve come to the realization that I will probably have to cut out alcohol to achieve my goal. But I don’t wannnnnnnnaaaaaaa! I mean, let’s be honest, I am never going to give that up for the rest of my life…I’m just not. I am well aware that I’m not in college anymore, but I do enjoy an ice cold beer after a long week of work or a nice glass of wine with dinner! So, I guess I’m stuck…do I give up alcohol and work hard to get the rockin’ bod I’ve always dreamed of, maybe see some abs start to appear, only to disappear because I refuse to deprive myself for the rest of my life? Or, can I find some balance in all of this?

Anyone stuck in, or overcome a similar situation? It seems that there must be some balance in having a tight, toned body that I can be proud of, and not depriving myself of EVERYTHING I enjoy. Maybe it can be done just by putting in extra time at the gym and never ever cheating? But then that doesn’t sound like too much balance either. I’m more than willing to put in the effort, I just don’t want to give up everything, especially when I know it will only be temporary. That’s why it’s a lifestyle change!

So, there you have it. Everyone has their own struggles when trying to make a major lifestyle change. I could just be happy with the progress I’ve made (and I am!) and keep doing what I’m doing, but I’m ready to push myself to the next level and make more changes! I feel like the obsessive side of me is definitely starting to come out…I could look at fitness blogs and success stories for days. It’s time to make my dreams a reality…time to do this!

My current fitness inspiration, Emily Schromm, if you’re wondering what my goal is. Makes me want to get back into CrossFit asap!

20130913-162108.jpg

20130913-162158.jpg

She is doing a 21-Day Superhero Challenge starting on 9/23 if you want to check it out! I’m thinking of doing it myself!

What challenges have you faced after making changes to your lifestyle?

Any tips? I’d love to hear your advice!

 

Now, go watch some scary movies or something!

kMc

Leave a Reply

