Sweatfest

So, I’ve been wanting to try Yoga out for a while now. I found a good deal on Living Social, so I thought what the heck, why not? I get unlimited Yoga and Hot Yoga classes for an entire month…score! I started tonight with Hot Yoga because it worked best with my schedule. I was a little hesitant after reading that the rooms are 105 degrees and the fact that I’m not flexible…at all, but I decided to give it a try!

Holy sweat! For 90 minutes. Dripping profusely down my body. I was sweating before the class even started – nice little preview of what was to come for the next hour and a half. It took me a little while to get into it. With all of the inhaling and exhaling (very loud exhaling), it was hard not to laugh at first. Not to mention all of the horns honking outside. Gotta love NYC when you’re trying to relax during Yoga!

Anyway, I feel like I’ve said this before, but I have literally never had so much sweat exit my body in a 90-minute period. I even had sweat coming out of my eyes, or maybe those were tears because of the unbearable heat…I really can’t be sure. Sweat running down my legs, my arms, my feet, my hands…EVERYWHERE!!! I also had to rent a mat (YUCK!) I probably don’t need to describe the nastiness of that. Needless to say, I’ll be investing in my own mat very soon!

I think for my first class, I did pretty well. And despite the heat, I actually enjoyed it. I feel like all of that stretching will definitely do my body good, and hopefully after a month of it, I’ll be able to do a lot more of the moves (and not just sit there while everyone else wraps their leg around their head). Though I’m not sure I’ll be doing headstands anytime soon like the girl beside me…

I’m hoping once I get better at it, it will be more relaxing, but tonight was an all out workout! As long as I burned some good calories, I’m happy! I’ll definitely be back at it again this week and the rest of the month and make the most of my unlimited classes! Will I be a yoga pro anytime soon? Probably not. But I am hoping I will gain some much needed flexibility!

Feeling good about trying new things! 🙂

Have you noticed any positive changes in your body from doing Yoga?

Namaste,

kMc

2 thoughts on “Sweatfest

Leave a Reply

