Getting Back in the Groove!

I know I’ve been a bad blogger and haven’t posted in forever. I hate that I have like zero free time during the week – straight to the gym from work, then home for dinner and a shower, then off to bed! Need. More. Hours. In. The. Day.  ANYWHO, I’m long overdue for a post!

You might be wondering what this title is all about. Well, I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes I have off-weeks. Whether I’m sore, tired, just being lazy, whatever it may be….it happens! I’ll blame it on just being downright tired and a little bit lazy, but last week I made it to the gym ONCE and to my run on Saturday morning – that about sums up my physical activity for the week! I felt a little guilty, but I was pretty proud of myself for doing my run on Saturday because I really really didn’t want to! Every now and then I think it’s necessary to have a week like that. Your body gets to rest, you start to miss the workouts, and you’re ready to start back hardcore the next week like you never skipped a beat! At least that’s how I feel – anyone else? It’s crucial when you have weeks like this to make sure you jump back into it the next week. A couple of days off ins’t going to give you a huge setback, but try not to make a habit out of skipping workouts! You’ll regret it – at least that’s been my experience!

Naturally, Monday counted as part of the weekend, which was amazing! I loved having an extra day to sleep in! On Tuesday, it was time to kick it in gear and head to Central Park for some Half Marathon hill training, which went surprisingly well. Hills suck, I don’t care who you are. Everyone says the Hamptons Half doesn’t have many hills…I really hope that’s true! Last night I did the TRX/Kettlebell class at my gym. That class is brutal and kicks my butt every single time. I don’t do it as often as I should, so I was definitely feeling it today. I think I’ll start doing it more – I love that sore feeling and knowing I’m building new muscle. Tonight, it was kickboxing. I love love love the cardio workout I get in this class, and if it wasn’t for the instructor tonight, I would have quit 10 minutes in. My body was struggling after last night’s workout, but like always, I’m so glad they push me to my limits. I always leave knowing that I gave it my all and that’s worth everything! I’m feeling great this week and glad to be getting my workouts in!

IMG_3314

Had to show off some of my favorite workout pants and my awesome Asics shoes (Gel Nimbus)! These shoes are like walking on clouds. I don’t know how I ever lived without them!

IMG_3307

Let me backtrack a little to this morning. As I mentioned before, coffee has re-entered my life (not that it ever really left). I love the “butter coffee” that I shared in my last post, but have been unlucky in finding that same butter again this week. Bummer, because I’ve been wanting it ALL week! I had already gotten my Americano from Starbucks when I realized the store didn’t have the butter, so I did the unthinkable and drank it with NOTHING in it. This is completely new territory for me. I already quit adding sugar/flavored syrups to my coffee and now my milk is gone too! I don’t know why I’m trying to complain…contrary to what you may be thinking, I actually really enjoyed it. Yayyy for black coffee! But I’ll still have my butter coffee fix this weekend, don’t worry!

IMG_3310

Now, let’s move on to lunch. Sorry for documenting my day with food, but I tried a new Pinterest recipe that I really want to share with y’all! Avocado Chicken Salad – you must try this ASAP! It’s better than the mayo version, it really is! I may have had avocado overload for lunch today, but I’m obsessed with avocados/guacamole! I had some carrots and zucchini dipped in guacamole to go along with it! Thanks, Katie, for the zucchini tip! Who knew that it’s delicious raw? Yummy!

IMG_3313

Lastly, my latest Pinterest fail, Paleo Cookie Dough Dip. While I do think it turned out like it was supposed to (and LOOKED phenomenal), it most certainly did not taste anything like cookie dough. And the hunt continues…

If you’re looking for a similar high intensity workout to do at home (sans the punching bag and gloves), try this:

Cardio

What’s your favorite workout?

Hope everyone is looking forward to the weekend, I know I sure am!

kMc

2 thoughts on “Getting Back in the Groove!

  1. I LOVE kettlebells! I do them twice a week. Kim told me that she likes avocado on her sandwiches…after seeing this avocado chicken salad, I might be won over. I love your blog, K, keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

