Tailgating in the City

College football is back, and I can’t believe it!! Where the heck has the time gone!? I have to admit it doesn’t quite feel like football season, because I would normally be sitting at a tailgate in Auburn right now! That doesn’t mean that we won’t make our own tailgate here in NYC! It’s a hot and muggy day, that started at 6:30 am with a run along the Hudson River (10.5 miles!), my longest run to date, I might add! Super pumped about that, but I know my legs will be paying for it tomorrow!

IMG_3241 IMG_3242

Pretty nice view during our run this morning!

IMG_3249

Then it was home to ice the ol’ knees. They aren’t very happy about this half marathon training.

Of course, I stopped by Starbucks on my way home. Our weekend ritual. I know I said I was giving up coffee, but someone recommended a recipe that all the Paleo-lovers are raving about! You can find more info here!

IMG_3243

I know what you’re thinking..BUTTER in your COFFEE??? I also said I was giving up dairy, but apparently grass-fed butter is A-OK in Paleo land. Whatever, I thought I’d give it a try. Fight fat cravings with fat – I wonder if that works? Anyway, I’ve been DYING to try this all week! No, really – believe it or not, it actually sounded really tasty to me!

IMG_3246 IMG_3247

I poured my Americano in the blender, added a tbsp of butter, blended, and VOILA!

IMG_3248

Kinda looks like a latte, but that’s a little deceiving!! It was really frothy, and I couldn’t wait to try it! Honestly, it was really good, and I’ll definitely try it again! The butter didn’t really give it that much flavor, but I didn’t want to add any more because I already had an entire tbsp in there! I guess it gave it enough flavor to make it pretty yummy though – I drank the whole thing AND enjoyed it! Thumbs up for this Paleo approved (and encouraged) morning go-to! Now that I’m thinking about it, I haven’t really been craving anything since, but that could have something to do with the numerous strips of bacon I consumed along with it! :)

Now, back to SEC Saturdays!! I have a love/hate relationship with football season! I love all of the get-togethers (no longer tailgating), watching games at a cool bar, etc. BUT THEN COMES…pizza, wings, chips and dip, alcohol – you know the drill. It’s so easy to consume what seems like a million calories over the course of the day! Now, since we’re living in NYC, today’s tailgate (aka going over to our friends’ apartment) doesn’t start until later, but that doesn’t mean there won’t be the temptation of yummy foods that I can’t eat! Soooo, I had to come up with some Paleo-friendly appetizers that everyone will enjoy! Here are a few things I’m trying today:

bacon-meatballs2-610x300

Bacon Meatballs with Mango Honey Mustard Sauce

chicken tenders

Baked Chicken Strips¬†- I’m planning to enjoy these with one of my favorite wing sauces (that probably isn’t Paleo – oops!) so that I can still enjoy some of my favorite things, but make it mostly healthy/Paleo too! Don’t get me wrong, Josh and I are obsessed with these wings, but I’ve gotta have some self-control and try not to eat them EVERY Saturday!

IMG_3252

Creamy Cauliflower Hummus

IMG_3253

Chocolate Coconut Cookies

Whew! That post took forever, but I’m happy to share some Paleo-friendly tailgating ideas with everyone! Now, onto making all of the above. Wish me luck!!

Happy Saturday and WAR DAMN EAGLE!!

Until next time,

kMc

Leave a Reply

